Argyll and Bute Licensing Board	Previous Appointments
10 Members suitably trained from the regulatory cohort	Councillor Jan Brown
	Councillor Audrey Forrest
	Councillor Kieron Green
	Councillor Amanda Hampsey
	Councillor Graham Hardie
	Councillor Mark Irvine
	Councillor Paul Donald Kennedy
	Councillor Liz McCabe
	Councillor Dougie Philand
	Vacancy

The administration and regulation of liquor licensing is the responsibility of a Licensing Board which is a completely separate and distinct entity from the Council.

It is the responsibility of the Council to appoint Members to the Licensing Board.

The Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 requires this Council to appoint Members to a Licensing Board. Since 2007 there has been one Licensing Board covering the whole of the Argyll and Bute area and ten Members have been appointed to this Board from the Members of the Regulatory Cohort. Schedule 1 of the 2005 Act provides that a Licensing Board must consist of at least five, and not more than ten members.

The Council must have regard to the following when giving consideration to appointment to a Licensing Board. A Councillor is disqualified from being a member of a Board if the Councillor is

- (a) The holder of a licence
- (b) An employee of a licence holder and works as such in licensed premises
- (c) Whether alone or in partnership with another person, is engaged in the business of producing or selling alcohol
- (d) A Director or other Officer of a company so engaged, or
- (e) An employee of any person so engaged and works as such in that business.